;

#WeareAFT

über uns

Team
Belgien

Team
Deutschland

Mission und Vision

AFT International hat zwei Standorte: AFT Belgien und AFT Deutschland. Beide Standorte verfügen über motivierte Teams mit einer klaren Mission: dem Kunden als fester Partner im Bereich Orthopädie und Podologie/Podotherapie alle Sorgen abzunehmen. Aus diesem Grund investieren wir kontinuierlich in neue Technologien und in uns selbst.

Unsere Vision ist glasklar. Wir sind bestrebt, zuverlässige und innovative Produkte zu liefern. Nur so kann AFT International seinen Partnern die besten Lösungen zur Verbesserung von Mobilität und Komfort bieten.

Unsere Werte

Menschen

Mit rund 125 Mitarbeitern steht ein multidisziplinäres Team jeden Tag für Sie bereit. Dank der langjährigen Erfahrung unserer Mitarbeiter hat AFT International ein enormes Know-how aufgebaut, um unsere Kunden bestmöglich zu entlasten. Wir finden es wichtig, dass jeder Mitarbeiter seine Talente weiterentwickeln kann, damit wir immer auf die neuesten Trends und Entwicklungen innerhalb unserer Branche reagieren können.

Flexibel

Mit unserer eigenen Produktion sind wir mehr als nur ein Vertriebsunternehmen oder ein durchschnittlicher Großhändler. Unsere Flexibilität unterscheidet uns von den anderen Anbietern in diesem Sektor. Dank unseres umfangreichen Maschinenparks auf einer Gesamtfläche von 15.000 m² produzieren wir täglich zahlreiche maßgefertigte Artikel für unsere Kunden, wie z. B. Fräsblöcke, Halbeinlagen, Elemente und natürlich Maschinen.

Zuverlässig

AFT International garantiert zuverlässige Maschinen und Materialien. Wir entscheiden uns bewusst ausschließlich für hochwertige europäische Rohstoffe, die wir intern weiterverarbeiten. Darüber hinaus haben wir mehr als 35.000 Artikel für unsere großen und kleinen Kunden auf Lager. Durch unsere eigene Produktion sind wir nicht von externen Herstellern abhängig.

Innovativ

AFT International entwickelt und testet ständig unsere aktuellen Produkte und neue Materialien, damit wir unseren Kunden immer die besten Lösungen anbieten können. Zu diesem Zweck investiert AFT International kontinuierlich in die neueste Maschinentechnologie, um schneller und effizienter maßgefertigte Lösungen für unsere Kunden produzieren zu können.

Authentisch

Wir sind die fünfte Generation eines angesehenen Familienunternehmens. Die Kombination von AFT Belgien und AFT Deutschland bietet zusammen mehr als 245 Jahre Erfahrung. Dank dieses einzigartigen Maschinen- und Materialkonzepts haben wir uns zu einem etablierten Anbieter in der Orthopädie, Podologie, Podotherapie und auf dem Gebiet der Schuhreparaturen entwickelt.

Unsere Geschichte

AFT International ist mehr als ein internationales Unternehmen: Es ist die Verbindung zweier historischer Familienunternehmen. Im Jahr 2001 schlossen sich das deutsche Unternehmen Mebus und das belgische Unternehmen Speelmans zusammen. Zusammen stehen sie für 245 Jahre hochwertige Handwerkskunst und Know-how. Unser Team ist auf 125 engagierte Mitarbeiter angewachsen und unsere Produktionsfläche umfasst mehr als 15.000 m², verteilt auf drei Standorte in zwei Ländern.

Unser Unternehmensvideo

4.5/5

"Wir bei AFT International streben nach Kundenzufriedenheit und Qualität.
Heute und in Zukunft.“

Die Historie von Mebus

1912

1912 begann Wilhelm Mebus senior in Schwelm, Deutschland, mit der Herstellung von Werkzeugen für das Schuhmacherhandwerk. Er arbeitete mit einfachen Schleifmaschinen, die aber immerhin bereits von Motoren angetrieben wurden. Noch vor dem Zweiten Weltkrieg konnte Wilhelm Mebus seine Produktion ausweiten.

1954

Nach seinem Tod im Jahr 1954 übernahm sein Sohn Wilhelm Mebus junior das Unternehmen. Die Globalisierung des Marktes ermöglichte es ihm, seine Produkte besser zu exportieren, und das Unternehmen erlebte ein starkes Wachstum.

1973

Im Jahr 1973 schlossen zwei konkurrierende Unternehmen, Rafflenbeul und Frobana, für immer ihre Türen. Mebus nutzte seine Chance und übernahm die Lagerbestände ihrer Ersatzteile. Auch heute noch wird Kunden mithilfe dieser Bestände geholfen.

1989

Peter Mebus, mittlerweile in der dritten Generation, erweiterte die Produktpalette des Unternehmens erheblich. Neben der Herstellung von Maschinen und Pressen für Schuhreparaturen spezialisierte sich das Unternehmen auf die Ausstattung von Werkstätten für orthopädische Betriebe. Später wurde auch der Entwicklung von zentralen Absauganlagen immer mehr Aufmerksamkeit geschenkt.

1995

Im Jahr 1995 übernahm Mebus den Vertrieb der Firma Hess in Magstadt. In der Zwischenzeit hat Hess die Produktion von Schleifmaschinen eingestellt. Dennoch ist unser Service-Team auch weiterhin für alle Hess-Kunden da. Nach dem Zusammenschluss mit Speelmans im Jahr 2001 wurde die AFT International GmbH zum weltweit zweitgrößten Akteur in der Produktion und Einrichtung orthopädischer Werkstätten.

Die Geschichte von Speelmans

1887

1887 wurde in Hasselt das Unternehmen Speelmans gegründet, das sich auf das Gerben von Oberleder für Bergwerksschuhe spezialisierte. Da die Gerberei und die Lederproduktion immer mehr zunahmen und Umweltprobleme in der Stadt Hasselt verursachten, schloss Dirk Speelmans senior die Produktionsstätte und verlegte sich auf den Lederhandel und den Vertrieb für die Schuhindustrie.

1920 – 1960

Die zweite Generation der Familie Speelmans beschloss, nach Antwerpen umzuziehen, um einen zentraleren Standort zu haben und für die Kunden besser erreichbar zu sein. Zwischen 1920 und 1960 war Belgien ein sehr wichtiger Schuhproduzent. Aufgrund der hohen Lohnkosten verlagerte sich die Produktion dann nach Südeuropa und Nordafrika.

1980

Die dritte Generation – in der Person von Walter Speelmans – beschloss daraufhin, einen anderen Weg einzuschlagen, nämlich den Vertrieb von Schuhmacher-Artikeln. Während der Blütezeit der Schuhmacherwerkstatt in den 1960er Jahren war es an der Zeit, an einen größeren Standort in Antwerpen zu ziehen. In den 1980er Jahren gelang Speelmans der Durchbruch auf dem internationalen Markt für Schuhreparaturen mit eigenen Markennamen wie EXTRA.

 

Im gleichen Zeitraum trat mit Dirk und Christophe Speelmans die vierte Generation in das Unternehmen ein. Sie konzentrierten sich mehr und mehr auf die Herstellung von Halbeinlagen. Da Speelmans auch bereits alle Materialien für die orthopädischen Schuhe verarbeitete und vertrieb, war ein wichtiger erster Schritt auf dem orthopädischen Markt gesetzt.

 

1998

1998 zog das Unternehmen dann in wesentlich größere Räumlichkeiten in Oelegem um, um der internationalen Expansion in der Schuh- und Orthopädiebranche gerecht zu werden. Drei Jahre später erhielt dieses Wachstum durch die Fusion mit Mebus Maschinenbau einen zusätzlichen Schub. So entstand AFT International, ein Unternehmen, das dem Markt sowohl alle Maschinen als auch alle Materialien anbieten kann. Durch diese einzigartige Synergie wurde AFT International unter der Leitung von Christophe Speelmans und Peter Mebus in nicht weniger als 40 Ländern weltweit aktiv.

2015

Angeführt von Cedric Speelmans, der seit 2015 in der fünften Generation im Unternehmen tätig ist, geht das Wachstum weiter und das aktuelle Gebäude in Oelegem wird um weitere 3500 m² erweitert. Der Schwerpunkt liegt nun hauptsächlich auf dem Markt für Orthopädie, Podologie und Podotherapie, während die Schuhreparatur einen wesentlich geringeren Anteil ausmacht.          

Die Historie von Mebus

1912

1912 begann Wilhelm Mebus senior in Schwelm, Deutschland, mit der Herstellung von Werkzeugen für das Schuhmacherhandwerk. Er arbeitete mit einfachen Schleifmaschinen, die aber immerhin bereits von Motoren angetrieben wurden. Noch vor dem Zweiten Weltkrieg konnte Wilhelm Mebus seine Produktion ausweiten.

1954

Nach seinem Tod im Jahr 1954 übernahm sein Sohn Wilhelm Mebus junior das Unternehmen. Die Globalisierung des Marktes ermöglichte es ihm, seine Produkte besser zu exportieren, und das Unternehmen erlebte ein starkes Wachstum.

1973

Im Jahr 1973 schlossen zwei konkurrierende Unternehmen, Rafflenbeul und Frobana, für immer ihre Türen. Mebus nutzte seine Chance und übernahm die Lagerbestände ihrer Ersatzteile. Auch heute noch wird Kunden mithilfe dieser Bestände geholfen.

1989

Peter Mebus, mittlerweile in der dritten Generation, erweiterte die Produktpalette des Unternehmens erheblich. Neben der Herstellung von Maschinen und Pressen für Schuhreparaturen spezialisierte sich das Unternehmen auf die Ausstattung von Werkstätten für orthopädische Betriebe. Später wurde auch der Entwicklung von zentralen Absauganlagen immer mehr Aufmerksamkeit geschenkt.

1995

Im Jahr 1995 übernahm Mebus den Vertrieb der Firma Hess in Magstadt. In der Zwischenzeit hat Hess die Produktion von Schleifmaschinen eingestellt. Dennoch ist unser Service-Team auch weiterhin für alle Hess-Kunden da. Nach dem Zusammenschluss mit Speelmans im Jahr 2001 wurde die AFT International GmbH zum weltweit zweitgrößten Akteur in der Produktion und Einrichtung orthopädischer Werkstätten.

;

#WeareAFT

Our Teams

Team
Belgium

Team
Germany

Mission and Vision

AFT International has two divisions: AFT Belgium and AFT Germany. We have driven teams of experts working at both locations. We have a clear mission: to unburden our customers and be a permanent partner within the orthopaedic and podiatry industry. This is why we continuously invest in new technologies and ourselves.

Our vision is clear. We strive to provide reliable and innovative products. This is the only way AFT International will be able to provide its partners with the best solutions to improve mobility and comfort.

Our values

People

With about 125 employees, we have a multi-disciplinary team standing by to support you every day. With years of experience, the people working at AFT International have built up an enormous amount of know-how and can unburden our customers in the best possible way. It is important to us that every employee is given the opportunity to develop their talents so we can always respond to the latest trends and developments within our sector.

Flexible

With our own production, we are more than just a distributor or average wholesaler. Our flexibility sets us apart from other providers in the sector. With an extensive 15,000 m² machine park, we produce many custom-made items such as milling blocks, semi-finished products, elements and of course, machines for our customers, every day.

Trustworthy

AFT International guarantees reliable machines and materials. We consciously choose to exclusively use high-quality European raw materials, which we process further internally. In addition, we have more than 35,000 items in stock for our large and small customers. Thanks to our own production facilities, we are not dependent on external manufacturers.

Innovative

AFT International continuously develops and tests products and new materials in order to always deliver the best solutions to our customers. To this end, AFT International persistently invests in the latest machine technology in order to produce custom-made solutions for our clients faster and more efficiently.

Authentic

We are the fifth generation of a respected family business. AFT Belgium and AFT Germany offers more than 245 years of combined experience. Thanks to the unique concept of machines and materials, we have grown into a total supplier and becoming an established value in orthopaedics, podiatry and shoe repair industry.

Our history

AFT International is more than an international company: it is the merge of two historic family businesses. In 2001, the German company Mebus and the Belgian company Speelmans joined forces. Together they represent 245 years of quality craftsmanship and know-how. Our team has grown to about 125 committed employees, while our production area covers more than 15,000 m², spread over two locations in two countries.

Our company video

4.5/5

"At AFT International we strive for customer satisfaction and quality.
Today, and tomorrow."

The history of Mebus

1912

In 1912, Wilhelm Mebus Senior started manufacturing tools for craft shoemakers in Schwelm, Germany. He worked with simple sanding machines; thankfully they were already powered by motors. Wilhelm was able to expand his production, even before the Second World War.

1954

After his death in 1954, his son Wilhelm Mebus Junior took over the business. Thanks to the globalisation, he was better able to export his products and the business grew strongly.

1973

In 1973, two competing companies, Rafflenbeul and Frobana, closed their doors. Mebus seized his chance and took over their stock of spare parts. This stock is still being used to help customers to this day.

1989

Peter Mebus, now the third generation, expanded the company’s range enormously. In addition to producing machines and presses for shoe repairs, the company specialised in workshop equipment for orthopaedic companies. Later on, the development of central extraction systems also received increasing attention.

1995

In 1995, Mebus took over distribution for the Hess company in Magstadt. Since then, Hess has discontinued the production of sanding machines. Our service team is still available for all Hess customers. After the merger with Speelmans in 2001, AFT International GmbH grew into the second largest worldwide supplier for the production and installation of orthopaedic workshops.

The history of Speelman

1887

The Speelmans company was founded in Hasselt, Belgium in 1887, specialising in the tanning of upper leather for mining shoes. Because the tannery and leather production grew, and therefore caused an environmental nuisance in the city of Hasselt, Dirk Speelmans senior closed the production facility and switched to the leather trade and distribution for the shoe industry. 

1920 – 1960

The second Speelmans generation decided to move to Antwerp to centralise their location and be more accessible to customers. Belgium was a hugely important shoe producer between 1920 and 1960. However, production moved to Southern Europe and North Africa due to the high wage costs.

1980

The third generation – Walter Speelmans – decided to take other paths: the distribution of shoemaking articles. During the 1960s shoemaking heyday, a move to a larger location in Antwerp was necessary. Speelmans broke through into the international shoe repair market in the 1980s with its own brand names such as EXTRA. At the same time, the fourth generation joined the company in Dirk and Christophe Speelmans. They increasingly focused on making semi-finished orthotics. Because Speelmans also processed and distributed all the materials for the orthopaedic shoes, an important first step was taken in the orthopaedics market.

1998

In 1998, the company moved to a much larger building in Oelegem to accommodate their international expansion into the shoemaking and orthopaedic industry. 3 years later, that growth was given an extra boost by the merger with Mebus Maschinenbau. This is how AFT International, the company that can offer all the machines and materials for the orthopaedic industry, was created. This unique synergy, led by Christophe Speelmans and Peter Mebus, means AFT International is now active in no less than 40 countries worldwide.

2015

Under Cedric Speelmans, the fifth generation in the company since 2015, growth is continuing and the current building in Oelegem is being expanded by an additional 3,500 m². The main focus is now on orthopaedics and podiatry, while shoe repair now represents a considerably smaller part.

The history of Mebus

1912

In 1912, Wilhelm Mebus Senior started manufacturing tools for craft shoemakers in Schwelm, Germany. He worked with simple sanding machines; thankfully they were already powered by motors. Wilhelm was able to expand his production, even before the Second World War.

1954

After his death in 1954, his son Wilhelm Mebus Junior took over the business. Thanks to the globalisation, he was better able to export his products and the business grew strongly.

1973

In 1973, two competing companies, Rafflenbeul and Frobana, closed their doors. Mebus seized his chance and took over their stock of spare parts. This stock is still being used to help customers to this day.

1989

Peter Mebus, now the third generation, expanded the company’s range enormously. In addition to producing machines and presses for shoe repairs, the company specialised in workshop equipment for orthopaedic companies. Later on, the development of central extraction systems also received increasing attention.

1995

In 1995, Mebus took over distribution for the Hess company in Magstadt. Since then, Hess has discontinued the production of sanding machines. Our service team is still available for all Hess customers. After the merger with Speelmans in 2001, AFT International GmbH grew into the second largest worldwide supplier for the production and installation of orthopaedic workshops.

The history of Speelman

1887

The Speelmans company was founded in Hasselt, Belgium in 1887, specialising in the tanning of upper leather for mining shoes. Because the tannery and leather production grew, and therefore caused an environmental nuisance in the city of Hasselt, Dirk Speelmans senior closed the production facility and switched to the leather trade and distribution for the shoe industry. 

1920 – 1960

The second Speelmans generation decided to move to Antwerp to centralise their location and be more accessible to customers. Belgium was a hugely important shoe producer between 1920 and 1960. However, production moved to Southern Europe and North Africa due to the high wage costs.

1980

The third generation – Walter Speelmans – decided to take other paths: the distribution of shoemaking articles. During the 1960s shoemaking heyday, a move to a larger location in Antwerp was necessary. Speelmans broke through into the international shoe repair market in the 1980s with its own brand names such as EXTRA. At the same time, the fourth generation joined the company in Dirk and Christophe Speelmans. They increasingly focused on making semi-finished orthotics. Because Speelmans also processed and distributed all the materials for the orthopaedic shoes, an important first step was taken in the orthopaedics market.

1998

In 1998, the company moved to a much larger building in Oelegem to accommodate their international expansion into the shoemaking and orthopaedic industry. 3 years later, that growth was given an extra boost by the merger with Mebus Maschinenbau. This is how AFT International, the company that can offer all the machines and materials for the orthopaedic industry, was created. This unique synergy, led by Christophe Speelmans and Peter Mebus, means AFT International is now active in no less than 40 countries worldwide.

2015

Under Cedric Speelmans, the fifth generation in the company since 2015, growth is continuing and the current building in Oelegem is being expanded by an additional 3,500 m². The main focus is now on orthopaedics and podiatry, while shoe repair now represents a considerably smaller part.